Skip to content

Challenge No. 28 ~ Monochrome

May 15, 2010

 

Welcome!  It’s time for a new Copic Creations challenge.   This week we are featuring MONOCHROME Copic Coloring!   For those who are unfamiliar with this term, here’s the definition from Dictionary.comA monochrome or monochromatic painting is one created using only one color or hue.

We did have a little help from our SUPER talented sponsor for this challenge  . . .  Katie Cotton!    Katie is the creator and owner of the stamp company Paper Makeup Stamps.   I hope you have the time to visit her store, she has some awesome images that are perfect for Copic coloring.   Everyone on the CC Design Team has created some true masterpieces using this technique and images graciously supplied to us by Katie from Paper Makeup Stamps.   

In addition to her paper crafting expertise, Katie is a phenomenal professional makeup artist and hair stylist!  You really should take a peek at her  makeup and hair blog – My Makeup Artist Blog.   Talk about one talented lady!  

We are fortunate to have Katie joining us today as a Guest Designer, with THREE monochrome colored cards!   She definitely knows her stuff when it comes to monochromatic coloring.   She has also recorded  two extremely helpful  video tutorials on this technique, which we’ve included in the tutorial section below.  

Here are links to ALL of Katie’s blogs for your perusal:   

Paper, Makeup, Stamps store           Paper, Makeup, Stamps blog         

 Created by Katie Cotton

Makeup and Hair Design           Makeup by Katie

 

***Katie will be giving a $35.00 Gift Certificate to her store

for one lucky winner of this challenge!! ***    (Very cool!)

PLEASE NOTE: You are NOT required to use an image from our sponsor for your Copic Creations project. You will have until May 31st, 12:00 p.m. CDT to post your artwork and be eligible for a chance to win this weeks prize; The winner will be announced along with our next challenge post on June 1st.

*******************************************

The VERY lucky winner for our 27th challenge is ~ No. 20

True Random Number Generator Min: Max: Result: 20 Powered by RANDOM.ORG

Congrats to Alyssa of ACS Paper Creations!

Thanks again to Marianne Walker and Copics for sponsoring this challenge!    

*********************************************

Listed below, are some tutorials to guide you in this challenge.  As always, please don’t hesitate to ask if you have  any questions.

Special thanks this week to …

Katie Cotton, Created by Katie Cotton ~

Video Tutorials 1 & 2 – Black & White Copic Coloring

Marianne Walker, I Like Markers ~

Understanding Contrast Part 3 – Monochrome

***********************************************

♥ COPIC CREATIONS’ CHALLENGE NO. 28 GALLERY ♥    

 

 

 ASELA HOPKINS     

G0000,G000, G00. G02. G05. G07. G28

 

 ♥ CHERYL ROWLEY ♥   

Woo, W1, W3, W5, W7, W9, R30 and BG10

 

  ♥ HEATHER GILFOY BOND ♥

  

  ♥ JAMI BOVA ♥   

 

♥ JANE WETZEL  

 

 ♥ JODI-ANN LEE♥  

 W0,W1,W3,W5

  

 ♥ KAREN WITTER ♥  

W1,W3,W5,W7,R00,R81  

 

♥ KATIE COTTON ♥  

 

♥ KATIE COTTON ♥ 

 

♥ KATIE COTTON ♥ 

 

 ♥ LILIAN TAN ♥ 

 

  ♥ MARY GIEMZA ♥ 

W00, 0, 1, 3, 5, 6, 7

 

  

♥ SUZANNE DEAN ♥

colors C00 thru C9 grays

We hope you will join us for this challenge and share YOUR creations with us. A Mister Linky has been included below. Please don’t forget to stop back on June 1st for our next challenge and the announcement of the winner for this challenge.

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 7:15 am

    DT samples are awesome and so are the images! Thanks for the helpful links to the video tutorials. Will work on this technique as it looks like lots of fun. Hugs, Maria

  2. May 15, 2010 7:26 am

    Everyone did a phenomenal job! I love all the sample cards from the DT!!!

  3. May 15, 2010 8:24 am

    Wow! You girls really rocked the challenge! PMS has never looked so good! 🙂

  4. May 15, 2010 9:00 am

    These all look fantastic!!!

  5. May 15, 2010 10:32 am

    WOW! Every one of the samples is just stunning! Katie your samples rock and the CC dt did a phenom job!!!

  6. May 15, 2010 1:15 pm

    wow great collection of cards i think i have to try my hand at this.

  7. May 15, 2010 2:57 pm

    These are all so great!!!!!

  8. May 15, 2010 8:53 pm

    I just added mine! It’s been a long time since I could play and this really stretched my meager talent! LOVE it!

  9. May 16, 2010 9:45 am

    Hi Ladies,
    wow I have made card for other challenge and then get comments from Jane Wetzel…. to check this challnge. And what you know… wow my card actualy go well with the challenge 🙂

  10. May 16, 2010 6:19 pm

    The design team images and colorings are truly inspiring. Great job, ladies !!!!

  11. May 17, 2010 5:22 pm

    The samples are GORGEOUS! I need to master this look!!! I hope I did fair enough to even be considered playing along…lol!

    Gabby

  12. May 18, 2010 11:14 am

    LOVE this challenge! I had so much fun making this card. I was great practice for my Copic coloring skills.

  13. May 19, 2010 12:50 am

    This is my 2nd submission. Though I am just a novice, I think it gives me some experience and I like the challenge of that! Thank you for this opportunity!
    Shelley

  14. May 23, 2010 3:35 pm

    There are so many different looks that you can get from Copic markers of the same color family. As soon as I saw this month’s Copic Creations challenge, I knew I had to participate! Thanks for all of your work in maintaining this site and obtaining such great sponsors!

  15. May 25, 2010 9:02 am

    Amazing samples! I was a bit nervous to try this one, but I LOVE the way my card turned out!! Thanks so much for a fabulous challenge. 🙂

  16. May 28, 2010 10:48 pm

    yahhhooo my first challenge with you, I am beginning to feel a little more comfortable with my coloring…thanks to all the samples from you challenges… I sooo sooo love my copics..they make me sooo happy.

Trackbacks

  1. Copic Creations Challenge ~ Monochrome « My Cardz~My Passion~My Therapy

Leave a Reply

